JEFFREY LEWIS SHOWS/TOURS/LECTURES/EVENTS - 2013

(121 documented shows in 2013)

Sat Feb 2, Olivebridge, NY - Jeffrey Lewis plays at the Winter Hoot fesitval, tix here.

Performing that day: Spirit Family Reunion • Amy Helm • Jeffrey Lewis • Mike & Ruthy • Jay Ungar & Molly Mason • Elizabeth Mitchell & You Are My Flower • Rosie Newton & Richie Stearns and Friends with caller Kristin Andreassen. "A full day and night of music, dancing, and good times for the whole family."

Fri Feb 8, Music Hall of Williamsburg, Brooklyn - Don Giovanni Showcase Day 1! Featuring Laura Stevenson, Jeffrey Lewis, Waxahatchee, Lemuria, Hilly Eye. Tix and info here.

Sidewalk 2-26-13 - Debut of new Stampfel-Lewis band (part of Winter Antifolk Fest 20th Anniversary). at 9pm (following Brer Brian at 8pm and preceeding Seth & John Luddington's "Forest Creatures" debut).

Rodeo Bar 2-27-13 - another practice run of the Stampfel-Lewis band, opening for the Ether Frolic Mob CD-release show.

The Jeffrey Lewis & Peter Stampfel Band returns in 2013, with a Sunday-night run at the Mercury Lounge (NYC) in March! Early shows! (8pm) $10 adv, doors at 6:30pm, support at 7pm. 21+ only, w/ID. Mercury Lounge is 217 E. Houston St, in Manhattan (one block east of Katz's Deli).

Sunday March 3 - NYC - The Jeffrey Lewis & Peter Stampfel Band at Mercury Lounge! With special guest opener Juan Wauters of the Beets (7" release show!!) at 7pm. Doors 6:30pm, $10 adv. tix here.

Sunday March 10 - NYC - The Jeffrey Lewis & Peter Stampfel Band at Mercury Lounge! With special guest opener Bob Jones & the Golden Tones at 7pm! Doors 6:30pm, $10 adv. tix here.

Sunday March 17 - NYC - The Jeffrey Lewis & Peter Stampfel Band at Mercury Lounge! With special DOUBLE guest openers Preston Spurlock at 7pm and Prewar Yardsale at 7:30pm! Doors 6:30pm, $10 adv.tix here.

----

Fri March 15 - Kingston, NY - (BSP Lounge. 323 Wall St.) Jeffrey Lewis & The Rain, w/The Brooklyn What, and What Moon Things. $6 adv., tix here!

--Sunday March 31 - NYC - The Jeffrey Lewis & Peter Stampfel Band at Mercury Lounge! With special DOUBLE guest openers Debe Dalton at 7pm and Glass Anchors at 7:30pm! Doors 6:30pm, $10 adv.tix here.

Tuesday April 16 - NYC - (show 10) The Jeffrey Lewis & Peter Stampfel Band opens for the Danielson Famile at the Knitting Factory, Brooklyn (w/ Welcome Wagon as first band of the night).

----

Thurs April 18 & Fri April 19 - Lawnya Vawnya Festival, St. John's, Newfoundland (feat. Jeffrey Lewis [solo acoustic], Shotgun Jimmy, Yellowteeth, Wreckless Eric and Amy Rigby, US Girls & more!)

 

Sunday, April 21 - Jeffrey Lewis (solo acoustic) plays Brooklyn Folk Fest at the Bell House.

----

Jeffrey Lewis & The Rain do some east coast USA shows opening for He's My Brother, She's My Sister

Wed May 1 - Burlington, VT (Higher Ground)

Thu May 2 - Providence, RI (FETE) (with Beach Day)

Fri May 3 - Boston, MA (Middle East)(with Beach Day)

Sat May 4 - Brooklyn, NYC (Music Hall of Williamsburg)(with Beach Day)

Sun May 5 - Purchase College Zinefeast, Purchase NY (this is not a HMBSMS show)

Tues May 7 - Philadelphia, PA (North Star Bar)(Beach Day cancelled)

Jeffrey Lewis opens for Gene Ween at Music Hall of Williamsburg, Friday May 10th! Aaron Freeman (former lead singer of Ween) is playing an acoustic set, on the heels of his great new album Marvelous Clouds (all covers of Rod McKuen songs!)... Jeffrey Lewis opens the show (with Isabel Martin on bass/keys). -------

The Jeffrey Lewis & Peter Stampfel Band CD RELEASE shows! One in Brooklyn, one in Manhattan!

Thurs May 16 - Brooklyn - Shea Stadium -(20 Meadow St) Lewis/Stampfel Band CD Release show 10pm (w/The Brooklyn What at 9:15, Shellshag at 8:30, and The Everymen at 11pm!) ALL-AGES! Doors @ 8p.m.::: $8 presale// $10 day of.

Fri May 17 - Manhattan - Bowery Electric - Lewis/Stampfel Band CD Release show 9pm (w/Crazy & The Brains at 10pm, and Berth Control at 8pm!)

-------------

May/June 2013: The Jeffrey Lewis & Peter Stampfel Band hits the UK! This time around it'll be a full-on 5-piece band... and featuring Franic of the Wave Pictures on mandolin!

Thur May 23rd - London - Brixton Windmill, 6pm (early show added!). £9/£11 (9pm show is now SOLD OUT)(both 6pm and 9pm have opening sets from Abi Palmer)

Fri May 24th - London - Brixton Windmill, 6pm (early show added!). £9/£11 (9pm show is now SOLD OUT)(both 6pm and 9pm have opening sets from Lail Arad)

PLUS -Just Added- Jeffrey Lewis does a solo acoustic "Breakfast Show" at the Brixton Windmill in London on Sat morning, May 25th! £8 adv (with bacon butty included)! Doors 10:45am.

Sat May 25th - Chorlton Arts Fest (Manchester). (w/ Misty's Little Adventure!) £10/£8

Sun May 26th - HowTheLightGetsIn Festival, Hay-On-Wye.

Mon May 27th - Cardiff (The Moon Club)

Tues May 28th - Brighton (The Blind Tiger)

Wed May 29th - Coventry (Taylor John's House). (w/ Misty's Little Adventure!)

Thurs May 30th - Derby (The Hairy Dog).

Fri May 31st - Leeds (Brudenell Social Club). (w/ Misty's Little Adventure!)

Sat June 1st - Glasgow (Mono). w/ Lach!

Sun June 2nd - The Stampfel/Lewis band performs as Daniel Johnston's backing band at the Barbican in London!

Mon June 3rd - Newcastle (The Cluny). (w/ Misty's Little Adventure!)

Tues June 4th - Hull (Adelphi) (w/ Crooked Weather!)

Wed June 5th - Leicester (The Musician) (with The Wave Pictures!!)

Thur June 6th - Norwich Arts Center (w/ Misty's Little Adventure!)

Fri June 7th - Cambridge (Portland Arms, with Model Village!)

Sat June 8th - Long Division Festival (Wakefield) with The Fall! (and the Wave Pictures, Let's Wrestle, This is the Kit, etc!)

----

Jeffrey Lewis plays some SOLO ACOUSTIC dates on the WEST COAST of the USA, with Jaimee Garbacik, to promote the release of the book Gender & Sexuality For Beginners (written by Jaimee, art by Jeffrey):

Fri July 5 -Seattle, WA - Black Coffee Co-Op (all-ages!)(501 E. Pine St.) 8:30pm.

Sat July 6 - Portland, OR - Backspace (all-ages!) (115 NW 5th Ave) w/ Amenta Abioto, and The Boy Who Lived.

Sun July 7 - Arcata, CA - The Bat Cave (house show, at 1164 11th St.) (all-ages!) $5 entry.

Mon July 8 - San Francisco, CA - The Chapel (all-ages!) (777 Valencia Street) w/ Odawas.

Tue July 9 - Los Angeles, CA - Echo Country Outpost (all-ages!)w/Homesick Elephant.

Back in NYC:

Wed July 10 - Jeffrey Lewis & The Sunny Skies play McCarren Park in Williamsburg Brooklyn (free show at SummerScreen night; the film after the live music will be "Can't Hardly Wait")

Sun July 14 - NYC- Jeffrey Lewis & The Rain play Cakeshop at 11pm (152 Ludlow St). Bastille Day show! (With earlier sets from Psychic Yardsale, Watoo Watoo [from Bordeaux, France] and Onward Chariots). Plus, from 7-9pm there's a book release event for Let's Start a Pussy Riot, at Blue Stockings (w/ Kembra Pfahler, Vivian Goldman and more).

---

IRELAND-UK-EUROPE: Jeffrey Lewis & The Rain, JULY 2013 European tour dates!

Tues July 16 - Galway, Ireland (Roisin Dubh)

Wed July 17 - Cork, Ireland (Crane Lane Theatre)

Thurs July 18 - Dublin, Ireland (The Grand Social)

Fri July 19 - Derry, North of Ireland (Bennigans)

Sat July 20 - Ipswich, UK (The Rep; Tower Street, IP1 3BE)

Sun July 21 - Latitude Festival, Henham Park, Southwold, Suffolk, UK

Mon July 22 - Brixton Windmill, London UK

Tues July 23 - Oof, the Luxembourg gig just fell through; too bad. If anybody has any last-minute gig suggestions for us, please email JeffLewisBand@Gmail.com - thanks!

Wed July 24 - Maastricht, Holland - Take 5 (w/ Black Velcro)

Thu July 25 - Brussels, Belgium - Café Central (Rue Borgval 14, 1000 Brussels) LeCafeCentral.com

Fri July 26 - Utrecht, Holland - DB's (CAB-Rondom 100, 3534 Be Utrecht)

Sat July 27 - Burning Eagle Festival; Reutlingen, Germany

Sun July 28 - "Hunsrück Open Air" Festival, Hahnenbach (near Mainz) Germany (w/ Freschard, Stanley Brinks, Burning Hell, and Embryo (original krautrock band, which is still continuing on!)!!

-----

Sat Aug 10 - Jeffrey Lewis plays solo acoustic at Visions Festival, London UK! (with Franic of the Wave Pictures on mandolin accompaniment)

-----------------

Jeffrey Lewis & The Rain play three dates on the EAST COAST of the USA, with readings from Jaimee Garbacik, to promote the release of the book Gender & Sexuality For Beginners (written by Jaimee, art by Jeffrey):

Tue Aug 13 - Arlington/Vienna, VA (Washington DC area) - Jammin Java. (227 Maple Ave E Vienna, VA 22180) Info HERE. (Actually, can anybody offer housing this night for Jeffrey/Isabel/Heather? Please email JeffLewisBand@Gmail.com) ALL-AGES!

Wed Aug 14 - Philadelphia, PA - West Kensington Ministry (2140 N. Hancock
Philadelphia, PA 19122). Info/FB HERE. ALL-AGES!

Thurs Aug 15 - Brooklyn, NYC -Secret Project Robot (389 Melrose St). (w/Noah Britton/Best Thing Ever, and Barry Bliss!) Info/FB HERE. ALL-AGES!

--------------

JEFFREY LEWIS & THE RAIN Aug/Sept UK/Europe tour dates! (This tour coincides with the NEW Jeffrey Lewis & The Rain 3-song vinyl release from Rough Trade Records, out on Tues Aug 27! WWPRD/Sunbeams/The Fall of the Soviet Union. PRE-ORDERS and downloads and info here.)

Fri Aug 23 - Reading Festival UK (Alternative Stage, 5:45pm)

Sat Aug 24 - Leeds Festival UK (Alternative Stage, 5:45pm)

Mon Aug 26 - Cologne(Koln) GERMANY- Die haengenden Gaerten von Ehrenfeld

Tues Aug 27 - Hannover, GERMANY - Sturmglocke (Klaus-Müller-Kilian-Weg 1, 30167)

Wed Aug 28 - Hamburg GERMANY - Astra-Stube

Thu Aug 29 - Wetzlar GERMANY Café Vinyl

Fri Aug 30 - Darmstadt GERMANY- Oetinger Villa

Sat Aug 31 - (show 70) Dresden GERMANY- The Sound of Bronkow Festival

Sun Sept 1 - Bytom POLAND - Dom Działkowca (Juliana Fałata 13) (This will be an outdoor show in the "allotment area" of the town + a small acoustic set before the main show in a historical tram.ACTUALLY no tram show happened. AND it was not an outdoor show.)

Mon Sept 2 - Berlin GERMANY - Monarch (moved from the late, great Festsaal Kreuzberg, RIP)

Tues Sept 3 - Nuernberg GERMANY - Hemdendienst

Wed Sept 4 - Vienna AUSTRIA - Chelsea

Thu Sept 5 - Munich GERMANY - Kafe Kult

Fri Sept 6 - Freiburg GERMANY - Swamp

Sat Sept 7 - Karlsruhe GERMANY - Halle 14

Sun Sept 8 - Zurich SWITZERLAND - El Lokal

Wed Sept 11 - MALTA (that country in the Mediterranean...)(w/Bark Bark Disco).

Thu Sept 12 -Paris FRANCE - L'Espace B (16, rue Barbanegre 75019).

Fri Sept 13 - Rouen FRANCE - Le 3 Pièces Muzik'Club

Sat Sept 14 - Lille FRANCE - La Péniche

Sun Sept 15 -Amsterdam HOLLAND - OCCII

------

Saturday Sept 28th, NYC - Tuli Kupferberg 90th birthday tribute show, at Sidewalk! (Daytime event, 2pm-5:30pm, Avenue A & East 6th St.). Jeffrey Lewis, Steve Espinola, Ed Sanders, Steve Taylor, Peter Stampfel, and others tba! All will do some sorta music or poetry or something in fond memory of Tuli Kupferberg, poet, activist, Fug, luftmench and cultural patron saint of the Lower East Side, who would have been 90 years old on Sept 28th.

-----------

Jeffrey Lewis & The Rain do some USA tour dates, opening for *QUASI!*

Tues Oct 1- Columbus, OH Double Happiness (no Quasi)

Wed Oct 2 - Champaign, IL The Velvet Elvis (no Quasi)

Thu Oct 3 - Omaha, NE Slowdown, Jr. *

Fri Oct 4 - Kansas City, MO Record Bar *

Sat Oct 5 - St. Louis, MO Off Broadway *

Sun Oct 6 - JUST ADDED - Lexington, KY (no Quasi) Cosmic Charlie's (388 Woodland Ave)

Mon Oct 7 - Birmingham, AL The Bottletree *

Tues Oct 8 -Atlanta, GA Drunken Unicorn *

Wed Oct 9 - Chapel Hill, NC Local 506 *

Thu Oct 10 - Washington, DC Black Cat Backstage *

Fri Oct 11 - Baltimore, MD Golden West (no Quasi) (w/the Creepers & Murderboat)

Sat Oct 12- Philadelphia, PA Boot & Saddle * (NOTE: Tallyfest in Leesburg, VA has been CANCELLED)

Sun Oct 13 - Brooklyn, NY Knitting Factory *

Mon Oct 14 - New York, NY Mercury Lounge *

Wed Oct 16 - Allston, MA Great Scott *

Thu Oct 17 - Buffalo, NY Tralf Music Hall - studio stage *

Fri Oct 18 - Cleveland, OH Grog Shop * (w/Banging Fragiles)

Sat Oct 19 - Chicago, IL Schuba's * (w/Magic Mouth)

Sun Oct 20 - Minneapolis, MN 7th Street Entry * (Jeffrey plays solo)

----

Jeffrey Lewis (solo acoustic) tours with <<Schwervon!>>

Mon Oct 21 - Sioux Falls, SD (no show came about...)

Tues Oct 22 - Rapid CIty, SD - The Llama Pen (412 5th St)

Wed Oct 23 - ? ? Can anybody help organize a gig for us?? Please email JeffLewisBand@Gmail.com

Thurs Oct 24 - Boise, ID - The Crux (w/ Mindrips)(1022 W Main St.)

Fri Oct 25 - Salt Lake City, UT - Kilby Court (w/ Alexis Gideon) (750 Kilby Ct)

Sat Oct 26 - Fort Collins, CO - Downtown Artery (252 Linden St)

Sun Oct 27 - Denver, CO - Seventh Circle Music Collective (2935 W. 7th Ave, 80240)

---

Jeffrey played 2 Lou Reed tribute nights - one that Jeffrey organized on Thurs Nov 21 at Jalopy, and the more official one at Bowery Electric on Sun night Nov 24 (a very cold night).

---------

Jeffrey Lewis (as Lightning Lewis & The Bolts, with Heather & Caitlin, the new line-up) played a number of "secret" and not-so-secret shows in NYC in Nov/Dec 2013:


Fri Nov 22 - Cakeshop show (early)

Fri Nov 22 - Sidewalk show (late)

Sun Nov 24 - WFMU Record Fair (w/ Blow Fly).

Fri Nov 29 - Sidewalk

(ALSO Jeffrey played solo at the CAB comic book event in Brooklyn, Union Pool, forget the date, w/ Pizza Underground and Marcellus Hall.)

Sun Dec 8 - (sadly unrehearsed) Sidewalk show

Wed Dec 11 - Union Pool - pretty good, back on our game w some rehearsal. (w/ Caged Animals)

Thurs Dec 12- Silent Barn (Jeff solo, just presented art-song stuff).

Fri Dec 13 - Sidewalk

Sat Dec 21 - Sidewalk (w/ Damian, unrehearsed, just a brief run-thru w/Caitlin at my apartment pre-show)

Fri Dec 27 - Sidewalk (w/ only a 2-hour pre-show rehearsal all week, right?)

----------------------------------------

(THAT'S 121 documented shows in 2013)