JEFFREY LEWIS SHOWS/TOURS/LECTURES/EVENTS - 2010

(79 documented shows/events in 2010)

Until Jan 16 - Toulouse, France - Jeffrey Lewis art show, at Lieu-Commun Contemporary Art Center !
Espace d’Art Contemporain Indépendant / Contemporary Art Space (23/25 Rue d’Armagnac), 00 33 + (0) 561 238 057
www.lieu-commun.fr

Mon Jan 18 - Brooklyn Bowl, NYC - 61 Wythe Ave (718-963-3369) DINOSAUR JR. (original lineup! J, Lou and Murph!) with opening act JEFFREY LEWIS (solo acoustic), Doors 6:00 pm / Show 9:00 pm, 21 AND OVER, $20.00

Fri Jan 22 - Brooklyn, St. Ann's Warehouse - Benefit for Tuli Kupferberg - Tuli Kupferberg, the influential songwriter who co-founded the Fugs, suffered two strokes, in April and September 2009, which left him blind, confined to his apartment and in need of 24-hour care. He is recovering well—he is able to speak clearly—but has overwhelming medical expenses not covered by Medicare or the very modest publishing/royalties income he earns at the age of 86. A number of his friends and admirers are coming to his aid by performing in a benefit concert produced by Hal Willner, including his fellow Fugs, John Kruth and an all-star band, Lou Reed, Sonic Youth, Pete Stampfel, John Zorn, Philip Glass, and others who will be announced soon. (Jeffrey Lewis plays too). Friday, January 22 at 7:30PM, at St. Ann's Warehouse, 38 Water St, DUMBO, Bklyn. - tix are 75 $ or 125 $ and are available here - https://www.ovationtix.com/trs/pe/7900805

Fri Jan 29 - Grinnell College, Iowa - Jeffrey Lewis at the Gardner Lounge (solo acoustic performance)

 

Wed Feb 10 - Andy Salsberg Dear Old Love book launch event, at 92 Y Tribeca, 200 Hudson St. (NOT snowed out!)

Fri Feb 12 - CANCELLED - Bryn Mawr College, Pennsylvania - CANCELLED

Sat Feb 13 - Stuff Hipsters Hate book launch event at Glasslands, Brooklyn, with DJ Shirley Braha and On Point.

 

AUSTRALIA/NEW ZEALAND TOUR IN MARCH 2010!

Following up Jeffrey's solo acoustic foray to Australia in March 2009, this time it'll be a full-band trip (Jeffrey, Jack and Dave) as Jeffrey Lewis & The Junkyard hit Australia for the Golden Plains Festival and some other shows! Then Jeff and Jack continue on as a duo to New Zealand...

Fri March 5 - BRISBANE - NEW SHOW JUST ADDED! At the HI-FI (125 Boundary Street, West End Brisbane)- with
DEERHOOF (USA)
WOODEN SHJIPS (USA)
TENNISCOATS (JAPAN)
JEFFREY LEWIS & THE JUNKYARD (USA)

TICKETS $40+ BF - www.thehifi.com.au

(Afterwards Jeffrey Lewis plays a late-night house show... )

Sat March 6 - ! CANCELLED! - The Lost Weekend Festival, Brisbane - whole fest has been CANCELLED - Luckily, the above March 5 last-minute show has been added in Brisbane to make up for this!

Sun March 7 - Golden Plains Festival, Meredith, Victoria, Australia (Jeffrey Lewis & The Junkyard, with Pavement, Calexico, and many more! Jeffrey Lewis additional solo acoustic set at 11 PM cancelled because of rain)

Mon March 8 - Woodend picnic (email for details)

Tues March 9 - Melbourne, NSC (Northcote Social Club), 301 High St, Northcote, Victoria 3070, Cost: $25, Ages 18+, http://www.northcotesocialclub.com/

Wed March 10 - Sydney, OAF (Oxford Arts Factory), 38-46 Oxford St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Cost: $25, Ages 18+, http://www.oxfordartfactory.com/

Thu March 11 - Wollongong, Oxford Tavern, 47 Crown Street, Wollongong, NSW 2500 http://www.oxford-tavern.com.au/

Fri March 12 - Newcastle, The Cambridge, 789 Hunter Street, Newcastle, NSW 2302, Cost: $8, with Karma Cops, Team, The Playtapes

Does anybody have a place for Jeff, Jack and Dave to rest/sleep in BRISBANE on Thurs March 4 and/or Friday March 5? The band are arriving early in the morning of March 4 with a long flight's worth of jet lag to rest off during the day, be nice to have a place to go to for a few hours of quiet recuperating! A place in Brisbane to sleep would be great too!

AND although drummer Dave will be leaving Australia around March 14, Jeffrey and Jack will continue on to seek adventure in NEW ZEALAND!

March 14 - Dunedin (house show)

March 17 - Christchurch (house show)

March 18 - Wellington (Happy)

March 19 - Wellington (house show)

March 20 - Aukland (Tabac)

 

APRIL 2010 Jeffrey Lewis solo appearances

 

Fri April 2 - London, UK - Jeffrey Lewis solo acoustic opening for Daniel Johnston at the TROXY (w/ Franic of the Wave Pictures on mandolin)

Sat April 3 - Glasgow, UK (show 20)- Jeffrey Lewis solo acoustic at Hinterland Festival! (after British Sea Power!)

Tues April 6 - The Rumpus literary event at Highline Ballroom, NYC

Sat April 10 - Sugar City benefit show, Buffalo NY

Sun April 11 - House show w/ Seth Faergolzia, Rochester NY

Wed April 21 - WFMU "7-Second Delay" show at Upright Citizens Brigade, w/ Jeffrey Lewis, David Hadju, and Al Jaffee!

 

May 1 - Jeff plays solo at Small Press event in uptown Manhattan, with Ed Askew, C-Town, and others.

May 5 - Jeff plays solo in NYC at Joe's Pub, Happy Endings series

May 8 - Jeff plays solo at David Heatley's house party event, with Dogbowl and Franklin Bruno too.

May 12 - The Bundles (Jeff/Jack/Anders) play two "secret" shows in NYC, at Cakeshop and at Sidewalk

MAY - The first UK tour of THE BUNDLES! (Kimya Dawson, Jeffrey Lewis, Jack Lewis, Anders Griffen)

UPDATE - Due to unfortunate last-minute situations, Kimya Dawson will NOT be in the UK this week. The other Bundles, Jeffrey/Jack/Anders, will do the Bundles UK tour as a trio. Full ticket refunds will be available for all people who bought tickets in advance, if they wish. The Bundles apologize for this sudden change in plans!

Sat May 15 - Leeds, (show 30) -Brudenell Social Club - (Kimya Dawson will NOT be appearing at this event, but the Bundles will still play!)

Sun May 16 - Glasgow - ABC2 - (CANCELED, replaced with Bundles DIY house show in Manchester)

Mon May 17 - Manchester - The Deaf Institute - (Kimya Dawson will NOT be appearing at this event, but the Bundles will still play!)

Tues May 18 - Ipswich - The Bundles (Jeff/Anders/Jack) play at the Swan (Bristol Trinity Arts Center is CANCELED)

Wed May 19 - London - Union Chapel - The Bundles and Misty's Big Adventure! (Kimya Dawson will NOT be appearing at this event, but the Bundles will still play!)

Thurs May 20 - Brighton - Komedia - BUNDLES SHOW IS BACK ON! For a REDUCED ticket price of only 8 pounds!!!

(Anybody who bought advance tix at the higher price will be refunded the difference on the door, OR given a full refund at point-of-purchase)

THE BUNDLES play PARIS on FRI MAY 21! (at Glaz-Art) (with A Sunny Day In Glasgow)

 

THEN Jeffrey & Jack Lewis tour ISRAEL (with support act Lail Arad)

(Jeffrey is donating his proceeds to the Fund For Reconciliation, Tolerance and Peace)

Sun May 23 - Uganda, Jerusalem
Mon May 24 - Martef 10, Haifa
Tues May 25 - Levontin 7, Tel Aviv

Wed May 26 - "secret" free show added in Tel Aviv

Tickets for all the shows are available at the Prozdor, (Rambam 14, Tel Aviv), and for the specific shows at the clubs.

 

SAT MAY 29 - THE BUNDLES play PRIMAVERA Festival in Barcelona, Spain

SUN MAY 30 - Jeffrey Lewis & The Junkyard play PRIMAVERA Festival in Barcelona, Spain

 

Mon May 31 - Jeffrey Lewis & The Junkyard play an afternoon show at the Windmill, in Brixton, London (with Octoberman and Balky Mule)

Tues June 1 - LONDON - "Jeffrey Lewis in Conversation" - Show & Tell UK presents a special evening of Q & A with Jeffrey Lewis, including a rare look into some of Jeff's old sketchbooks. AT: The Old Queens Head, 44 Essex Road, London N1 8LN (Nearest Station: Angel / Venue Tel: 020 7354 9993) ATTENDANCE IS LIMITED TO 100. Price: £15 / Tickets: www.showandtelluk.com 

 

Sun, June 20 - NYC - Highline Ballroom - Jeffrey Lewis headlines the "Jimmy Lloyd Songwriter Showcase!"

 

Saturday August 7 - Jeffrey Lewis plays at The Hop in Wakefield, UK - (19 Bank Street, Wakefield, WF1 1EH)

Sunday August 8 - Jeffrey Lewis plays STANDON CALLING festival UK

Jeffrey Lewis & The Junkyard SEPTEMBER TOUR DATES 2010!

Wed Sept 8 - Goteborg, Sweden (Gårdaskolan) w/ MV & EE (ex-Tower Recordings), and Sus & Jakob

Thu Sept 9 - Malmo, Sweden (Debaser)

Fri Sept 10 - (show 50) Copenhagen, Denmark (Drone Bar)

Sat Sept 11 - Stockholm, Sweden (Debaser Slussen)

Sun Sept 12 - Oslo, Norway (Cafe Mono)

Mon Sept 13 - Tampere, Finland (Telakka)

Tues Sept 14 - Helsinki, Finland (Bar Loose)

Wed Sept 15 - St. Petersburg, Russia (Tanci)

Thu Sept 16 - Moscow, Russia (Aktzal)

Fri Sept 17 - St. Gallen, Switzerland (The Palace)

Sat Sept 18 - Nancy, France (L'Autre Canal)

Sun Sept 19 - Ribeauvillé, France (private house show - for info see www.hiero.fr)

Mon Sept 20 - (show 60) Strasbourg, France (Trocafe)

Tues Sept 21 - Lyon, France (Grrnd Zero) w/ Daniel Francis Doyle and Sage Francis

Wed Sept 22 - Luzern, Switzerland (Treibhaus Luzern, Spelteriniweg 4 )

Thu Sept 23 - Faenza, Italy (Clandestino)

Fri Sept 24 - Rome, Italy (Init)

Sat Sept 25 - Brescia, Italy (Vinile 45)

Sun Sept 26 - Pistoia, Italy (Arca Puccini)

Mon Sept 27 - Zurich, Switzerland (El Lokal) w/ Brook Pridemore (but he cancelled last-minute!)

THEN

Saturday Oct 2 - Secret show at Sidewalk as Naff Tosser and the Pants (Jeff/Jack/Nan)

OCTOBER 2010 - Jeffrey Lewis & The Junkyard play some US dates supporting The Vaselines!!

Sun Oct 3 - Philadelphia, PA (First Unitarian Church)

Tues Oct 5 - Boston, MA (Paradise)

Wed Oct 6 - New York City (Webster Hall)

Mon Oct 11 - Carrboro, NC (Cat's Cradle)

Tues Oct 12 - Atlanta, GA (The Earl)

Wed Oct 13 - New Orleans, LA (One Eyed Jack's)

Thu Oct 14 - Houston, TX (Warehouse Live Studio)

Fri Oct 15 - Dallas, TX (The Loft at the Palladium)

Sat Oct 16 - Austin, TX (Emo's Outside)(w/ Cowabunga Babes)

Then, on the drive back to NYC from Austin...

Sun Oct 17 - Little Rock, AR - Jeffrey Lewis plays solo acoustic at Arkansas Community Arts Co-op, 608 Main Street, all-ages show, $5, w/Kidz Pop, and Ezra Lbs!

Mon Oct 18 - Cincinnati, OH - Jeffrey Lewis plays solo acoustic at Another Part of the Forest, 1333 Main St, 45202, downtown Cincinnati... with Lisa Walker (of Wussy)! 5 bucks. Show starts at 8.

THAT'S 79 documented shows...